mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-10-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Already, with the complaining

Okay, despite being so very thankful that I have a job, I am beginning to lose patience with the two people to whom I report.

(Actually, I won't "report" to them once there is a successful transfer of knowledge, but therein lies the problem. No time to transfer knowledge and even less ability to identify the knowledge that needs transferring. It's very frustrating.)

You see, they are flakes. Big, flaky, waffley flakes. Waffley, airheady flakes who are awfully nice, but either too busy or mistrustful to really hand anything over to me. Again, frustrating. Like, the one woman from whom I will be taking a lot of the day-to-day office crap is so flaky she could do Scott McClellan's job and still be able to pass a lie detector test. Because she is that flaky. She honestly cannot answer most of the questions I have for her because she sincerely has *no idea* what I am asking and why anyone would need to know. She seems to think my request for a working phone is "attention to detail." Nice woman, but I mean really, any more clueless and she'd have to be in sales.

(She's in marketing, so that may tell you all you need to know about her right there.)

And she's nosy, too. I was told by the GM that she's concerned my presence will make her job obsolete, although I have no idea how to reassure her other than wearing a t-shirt that screams "FUCK MARKETING." So, she stopped by my cube to see how things were going at the office during her 3-hour lunch, and as I responded I saw her bristle whilst eyeing a list I had left on my desk about things I needed to discuss with the GM. She was so wigged she missed my response to her question (which was "No, nothing has happened since you left"), and stood staring at the list like she was being blocked for a scene.

It was kinda weird, really.

It wouldn't bother me so much if it wasn't keeping me from working; and that wouldn't bother me so much if I weren't instilled with that terrible protestant work ethic.

(Which in itself if kinda weird, since I have NO WORK ETHIC WHATSOEVER when I'm at home in a house that has years of spring cleaning to catch up on.)

Oy, vey. OK, no more whining. I'm gonna go add stuff to my wish list.

4:37 p.m. - 2005-10-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry