mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goin' on a holiday...

Today at lunch I went to a focus group. Sadly, nothing remotely interesting came out of that, except the $50.

Woo-hoo! $50!

Some people are talking about JournalCon, how excited they are, how their parents are reacting, stuff like that. And since I'm nothing if not a plagiarist and lazy-ass, here's my story.

My mother wrote me a concerned email asking if I was going to Austin with anyone. Later on, I spoke to her on the phone and she challenged me that I had not answered her question. Who was I going with?

"Well, I'm meeting my friend from San Francisco there, Mom. In fact, I'm rooming with her."

"Oh, good. Do I know this person? Is it Trevor?"

"Trevor's not a her, Mom. And you don't know her. I met her online."

Dramatic pause. "OH." I can hear her lips pursing. "Well, good. I didn't want you going alone."

"Why not?"

"Well, it's a college town."

"So? What, I'm too old to be in a college town?"

"No, no. I'm just saying."

So that's what my mom thinks. For the record? I have no idea what my mother was just saying.

I leave the house at 5 o'clock Friday morning and fly out of PDX at 6:30. Am I packed? No. In fact, do I have any of the essential things done? No. I haven't shaved my legs I haven't done my nails I haven't cut my hair I haven't washed my clothes I haven't refilled my prescriptions I haven't decided on outfits I haven't bought snacks and I especially haven't thought about proper shoes.

*Sigh* So, ask me what I'm doing tonight? Going to see my sister's new dog. I like to live on the edge, you see.

2:57 p.m. - 2003-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry