mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2006-01-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That'll do, jackass

Yesterday I nearly ran over James Cromwell. Well, OK, technically it wasn't him, just a James Cromwell-looking character. But that's not important right now. Here's what happened:

I was driving along in sister K's car, having borrowed said car to drive home on my lunch hour to get the insulin I forgot to bring. (Is it funny how a side effect of a disease is forgetting to take the medicine to treat that disease? Can someone get Alanis to write a song to clarify that for me?) Anyway, K drives a stick and I don't, usually, so I was still a tad iffy on my starts. I was driving down a downtown street on my way back to the office when NotJames Cromwell began to cross the street with his elderly ladyfriend. This crosswalk was roughly two blocks away from my position when he started across.

The jackass SUV in front of me didn't stop to let NotCromwell by, despite the law, so NotJamie started across again, only this time making large gestures at me with his gangly limbs and mouth "SSSTTTOOOOOOOOOOOPPPPPPP."

OK, I was about a block and a half away from the crosswalk, and going about 5 miles an hour. This dude had plenty of time to stride across the street with his shuffling wife before I even got near the cross walk. But he continued to gesture at me, alternating between "Stop!" and "I'm in the crosswalk here. Can't you see the CROSSWALK??!?"

Well, yes, I saw the damn crosswalk. And there was no way I was going to hit him unless he chose to stop in the middle of the street and wait for me.

Which he did.

So, I pull up about 10 seconds later to the edge of the opposite curb, where one is supposed to stop, and I stop. NotCrom glares at me, motions to the crosswalk again, and stalks to the sidewalk. I start to cross the intersection and he turns and looks right at me.

So, what do I do? I panic for an entirely unknown reason, and accidently put too much gas on without lifting up on the clutch, thus roaring loudly.
I still have eye contact with NotFarmer Hoggett, so now he thinks I not only planned on running him and his Babe over, but am now trying to intinidate him with my hot rod Subaru Impreza.

5:00 p.m. - 2006-01-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry