mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long weekend update, or not.

It's been one of those Fourth of Julys again. Never been my favorite holiday: it's always too hot and the music they pick for the fireworks is always a little off (if I hear one more misplaced patriotic playing of "Born in the U.S.A." I swear I'm going to haul off and kick someone. Preferrably someone in an Old Navy American flag t-shirt).

Given that my family doesn't have much of a July 4th tradition, Trevor Dunnigan and I slept in, went out to breakfast and spent the rest of the day drinking beer and watching Harold and Kumar go to White Castle. Funny fucking movie, even if you're not stoned. Kumar's last soliloquy about America is more stirring than anything the official speechwriters can come up with. Anyway, we then attempted a sort of barbeque that wasn't timed very well, since I was not at all hungry by the time my tofu-dogs were crisp. The only tradition I kept to was making our white-trash pic-a-nic staple: Pea salad. Every family has their own version, ours is Miracle Whip, sweet pickles, hard-boiled egg, cheddar cheese. And, uh, peas.

Then any theme we had going for the holiday went to hell in a handbasket, as Trevor Dunnigan went upstairs to find Alan Partridge websites and I watched Velvet Goldmine on Starz.

It was the point of the movie to make you think Ewan MacGregor, Christian Bale and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers were unbelievably hot in their glittery eye shadow and tight pants, all making out with each other and shit, right? It's not just me, right?

Mmmmm. Ewan, Christian and Jonathan; now that's a holiday I can celebrate. We can call it "BowieDay: a celebration of accented and wiry boys not afraid to explore their sexual identities on film." If anything, you'd get a lot better music coming from the Boston Pops every year than "Doodletown Fifers" and "Love Train.". And we'd have posters of sexy boys hanging from every pole (so to speak) rather than stupid american flags that you can't even light on fire. Nothing makes me less patriotic than the fourth of July.

But what the fuck, it's a day off work.

10:47 p.m. - 2005-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry