mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-06-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

At least, I hope it's the keyboard

The keyboard at my office makes my hands smell really weird. Not that I walk around sniffing my hands all the time, but I do tend to rest my chin on my hand like a cherub when I have a lot of mousing to do. And you know the hand has to stink pretty strong to bother me just hanging out there on my chin.

Just another day in the life of the consultant no one wantstm. First I had no cubicle. Then I got a cube but no computer. Then, I had the hardware but no software. Then, I got the software (so I can work), but still have no phone (so people have to walk a while to find me). And finally, today I got a phone... but with no receiver! I mean, what kind of company sends a phone without a handset? What good is that?

Nortel, that's who.

Work is going pretty well, but I had a little anxiety attack just now because I was asked to make up a report in Access for my favorite consultant, and after crashing my machine three times, I had to go tell him I couldn't do it, probably because of both user error and inadequate equipment.

My heart started palpitating and I was flashing back to my old job, imagining that'd he'd react as my old boss did: with stern admonitions and screaming and not-so-subtle put downs.

Turns out he just gave the project to someone else. It was no big whoop. I'm still slightly apoplectic from the anxiety I built up. Thank jebus* for the calm down pills.

I can't believe it's been a year and I'm still suffering from the sumping.

*Did you know there was actually a tribe called the "jebusites?" I don't think they were who Homer Simpson had in mind.

8:42 p.m. - 2005-06-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry