mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And on the one day I wear mascara, this happend

So we're sitting at Thanksgiving dinner: Me, Trevor and his parent Dunnigans; Sister K, husband A and the young niece and nephew; and my uncle S. There was a lull in the conversation, so I brought up to K that I had just finished reading Gregory Maguire's Mirror, Mirror, which is a retelling of the Snow White story in early 16th century Italy, with Lucretia Borgia as the evil queen. We were discussing the names of Maguire's dwarves when my nephew piped in with his own retelling of a comic he had read recently about Snow White. I didn't revognize the particular comic strip until he quote the final line verbatim:

Oh, fine. It's not called Snow White and the seven dwarves, it's Pitch Black and the Seven Giant Honkies.

My sister chided me for using this as journal fodder, but I'm sorry; there are very few things funnier than that sentence as delivered by an innocent nine year old white boy.

11:57 p.m. - 2004-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry