mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On napping, and whatnot.

There are two schools of thought when it comes to writing. The first, the one you hear from almost any successful writer, is this: "Just write. Don't worry about grammar or spelling or keeping plotlines straight. Just write fast, write a lot, without stopping, without thinking, and clean it up in rewrite. Just. Write."

Then there's my school of thought, which is really closer to a half-day seminar on TV/VCR repair than a school, which is: "I want to write, but I just don't have anything to say. I think I'll take a nap instead."

You can see how this philosophy might hamper one's career as a novelist. In fact, my school of thought has taken over my life right now, where I simply replace the word 'write' with other words, like 'work,' 'eat,' and 'shower.' Well, maybe that doesn't quite work, but my point is this: I nap a lot. And that doesn't really make for really interesting journal entries.

So, I guess all I can say now is that my journal is the number one link that comes up on Yahoo Search for "Itchy Vicodin Balls."

And I couldn't be more proud.

10:31 p.m. - 2004-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry