mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What'll you have?

I have come into a crisis, and I need your help. Yes, you! It has to do with this whole job thingy. Since my last escape, I've been thinking that this is the perfect opportunity for me to stop playing office jockey and actually decide what I want to be when I grow up.

Problem is, I don't know what that is. I have a few guidelines (I'd like to be able to dress casually, I'd like to avoid customer service, sitting is a good thing). Mainly, as an old sage once opined, 'I don't want to sell anything, buy anything or process anything as a career. I don't want to sell anything bought or processed... or buy anything sold or processed... or process anything sold, bought or processed... or repair anything sold, bought or processed. You know, as a career, I don't want to do that.'

Other than that, the future is wide open. Ugh.

So anyway, I'm seriously considering going to bartending school. I've always kinda fantasized about working in a bar in some foreign country, getting to act wise and offer advice and strong drinks while stocking the juke box with all my favorite CDs. It goes against two of my guidelines (what with the standing all day and those darn bar patrons), but I figure it's a talent I could use whereever I went. Every country likes to drink, right?

You know, Oregon voters get to vote by mail. I figure, we vote as soon as the ballots come, "vacation" in Canada and, if the election goes wrong again, we just stay there. And I can bartend. Sounds like a plan, right?

Anyway, what do you think? If I don't go to bartending school, what should I do instead?

6:27 p.m. - 2004-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry