mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take this higher co-pay and call me in the morning

I almost chose not to write an entry today, because I don't want my journal to be all about how crappy my work is. It's supposed to be about how crappy my health is, otherwise it would be called "Data Balls," and I think we can agree that doesn't make any sense.

So, no entry about the irritating coworkers and their lofty demands today.

But my health has been OK lately too: no blood sugar mishaps, no unbearable anxiety or black depressions. I guess the only thing that's changed recently is my co-pay for prescriptions. Which sucks, since I go through roughly 12 prescriptions a month, what with my pills and injectibles (and injectible accessories) and whatnot. My monetary situation doesn't look to be getting any better any time soon, so I don't really have all that much to absorb the higher fees.

And they say they want to cure diabetes. HA! Pharmaceutical companies will keep this cash cow around forever. They'll just keep finding better daily medicines, sharper needles and more expensive surgical procedures. And here's the thing about insulin: there is no generic. So, for those of us on a tiered co-pay system (One price for generics, a higher price for brand-name), we have to pay the higher amount. These are the same people who have decided that Walgreen's is a "brand" of syringe, so that's the higher price too.

I know I should count my blessings that I even have insurance, but fuck that. We should all have health insurance. That's what taxes are for, not to give to pharmaceutical companies so they can privatize Medicare.

3:29 p.m. - 2004-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry