mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Norman Conquests

Enough with the weather updates. We took the car out today, got sammiches and returned home without incident. So this winter is no longer a wonderland, it's just a brown, slushy neighborhood.

Through no machinations of my own, I've been inundated lately with medieval history. It's kind of odd. At my mother's recommendation, I started reading Holy Blood, Holy Grail, which is the "factual" book from which The DaVinci Code got its idea. What i've read so far has been set in France in the twelfth century. Then, we started watching A History of Britain, which Trevor Dunnigan got for christmas, and it goes into great detail on the medieval period. And now, Terry Jones has a series on the History Channel called Terry Jones's Medieval Lives (I can't seem to find a proper link for it-- Sorry). That's a lotta medievalness, I tell you.

Strangely, though, they all sort of tell the same story. I guess it's because there's only so much documentation about medieval history. So, despite being exposed to so many hours of history, I don't feel that I know very much about medieval life.

Except that it's full of Frenchmen.

8:32 p.m. - 2004-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry