mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maybe Emma Thompson will marry me

I think I would like to find a woman to marry just to piss people off.

I have to say I do not understand what all the hullaballo is about when it comes to gay marriage. If two men want to have a party, declare their love and check "married" on their taxes, what business is it of anyone else's? How is commitment a bad thing? I just don't get it.

I heard a guy on NPR this morning talking about how gay marriage would undermine "real" marriage because the majority of children in Scandinavian countries are born out of wedlock. Yeah, I don't see the connection either. Something about gay marriage affecting whether or not straight people will get married, and if they don't, the children will suffer. 'Cause it's *always* about the children.

I'm sorry, but I don't buy it. I don't think for one minute that people who are considering getting married actually take into consideration whether the gay couple across the street is married or not. Unless they're addressing invitations. I don't believe that whether a committed couple chooses to stay together or divorce is affected by whether Rosie O'Donnell and her girlfriend have vowed to have and to hold. There is no cause and effect.

People may ask why would gays want to get married? Gee, I don't know, because they love each other? Because they want the 1,045 legal perks afforded to married couples (like being legally able to see a sick spouse in the hospital, or adopt children, or get the family discount in Disneyland). It just seems to me that the laws prohibiting same sex marriage are flatout discrimination. And just like they can't discriminate based on the fact that I'm female, or the fact that I'm blue-eyed, or the fact that I wear feety pajamas, they shouldn't be able to discriminate based on who people love. It's patently ridiculous.

So, good for the Supreme judicial court of Massachussetts. And a big raspberry to all those politicians posturing and cooing over the "Defense of Marriage Act." Don't you all of something more important to worry about?

3:22 p.m. - 2003-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry