mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I *heart* the BBC

It started to snow today in Portland and they say this winter is supposed to be as bad as the winter of '96. I wasn't here for that one, so I'm a little freaked out. I'm a Californian, I don't know how to cope with weather.

Well, I was a Californian. I had a long-distance relationship with with California starting in 1999, and finally broke up with California after the recall election. I don't consider myself a Californian (except in respect to ignorance of the weather), I'm a Portlander! An Oregonian! Yes, I recycle and yes I like trees. What's it to you?

I have been reading about the security requests the Bushpeople had wanted, and I can't help but marvel at how prescient that MI-5 episode was.

The whole series of MI-5 (or Spooks, as it's called in its native Britain) has really impressed me. It's really well-written and I have a mad crush on Matthew MacFadyen. The episode of which I speak has George W. Bush (yes, they referred to him by name. Yay, realism!) making a visit to London. Most of the story is how difficult the secret service and CIA made it for MI-5 (the British equivalent of the counter-terrorism bits of the FBI), with all their secretiveness and security requirements. It was quite nice to see them getting exasperated with Bush and his politics. Good show, good show. Like a more believable 24.

The snow has stopped, and now it's just rain and wind. I'm hoping to leave the office today by three so I can get the commute done during daylight. It's supposed to be mighty cold tonight. You know, cold for the west coast anyway.

2:19 p.m. - 2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry