mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cause and Effect

In the course of a 39 hour trip to Portland, Estelle accomplished the following:

  • Burped in a fancy restaurant.
  • Referred to me dodging our company's layoff as akin to being a "Holocaust survivor."
  • Yelled at my niece to NOT TOUCH every single thing the poor girl got near.
  • Insisted on playing a loud game on her Palm Pilot while the rest of us were watching SpongeBob Squarepants in honor of the nephew's birthday.
  • Gave the birthday boy, who turned eight, ten presents, including a "doctor's kit," complete with a surgeon's gown, three boxes of Band-Aids and a pair of latex gloves. Also? She gave him a book about self-esteem for kids with skin conditions. My nephew does not have a skin condition.
  • ???!??!?

The fall out from my discussion with Mom was that when we met, Mom, Estelle and I, at Powell's this morning before they flew out, Estelle said less than two sentences to me. There was no fake kissy-kiss crap, no bombardment of questions and yammering about non-issues. She was cold, and pursed her lips a lot, and it was fan-fucking-tastic.

I don't know how this will affect anyone else, but today? I feel like the only lucky one in family.

8:01 p.m. - 2003-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry