mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little packets of catch-up

I missed out on the Friday Five last week due to my Tilex caper, so here it is:

1. If your life were a movie, what would the title be?
"Medicine Balls," of course (or, "Med'Cine Ballz" if I'm going for the 'Stiff white girl brought around to see thing right by the wacky person of color' angle).

2. What songs would be on the soundtrack?
Solsbury Hill, Peter Gabriel; Useless Flowers, Lawsuit
; Baby Elephant Walk, Henry Mancini.

3. Would it be a live-action film or animated? Why?
Live-action. Since I'm rarely shooting spider webs out of my wrists, jumping off buildings or declaring war on Canada, I don't think my movie would be a good fit for animation (although... I do have the talking animals...)

4. Casting: who would play you, members of your family, friends, etc?
Me - an unknown. K - Rosie O'Donnell. J - Janeane Garafalo. Trevor Dunnigan - Matthew Perry. Paul - Steve from Blues Clues. Estelle would be played by Kathie Lee Gifford, with Roger Ebert as my mother.

5. Describe the movie preview/trailer.
Still shots of the following, cut close together and speeding up: marching bands, video games, oreo cookies, diet coke, pills being packaged, kittens playing with string, people standing in lines at libraries and old cereal commercials. Voice-over: "In a world rife with pharmacies and softball diamonds comes...Medicine Balls." Or, for Med'Cine Ballz, maybe just something by 50-Cent.

Potential producers may contact me here.


In other news, V and I went dancing with Paul on Saturday. That was a lot of fun. Being old, I forgot that dance clubs don't really get started until midnight, so we met up early and drank the $1 well drinks and people watched. Then we danced. Then we walked around Portland at two in the morning. And then we ate at what is probably the only 24-hour diner downtown called The Roxy. I believe a good time was had by all.

And then, the next day, we went SAILING. My brother-in-law A has a super-extra-fancy-platinum membership to a sailing club on the Columbia (he teaches sailing there on weekends, you see), and he took us out on, I don't know, some sloop or schooner or something. It was fabulous. Sailing is a lot of work, even if you're kicking back and having a beer (which we were). I was in charge of the jib sheet (?) and the tack (?), so there was a lot of pulling and winching there. And it was hot (though windy), and I don't do well in the sun. We went out at 5 and A had usback in by 8:30, but it was still hard. But loads of fun. It made me wish I still had my eye patch from Thursday night. Avast! Yearrrrrrgh!

This weekend was great, but I'm not sure Trevor Dunnigan was all that happy. He liked the sailing, but I think he thinks V is a bad influence on me, and is irritated when I stay out late without him (although, he was totally invited to go). It's nothing he says (since he's just even more quiet than usual) or does, it's just this vibe I get from him, that he's jealous of the attention any visitors get (though I'm sure it's unconscious). V's gone to Seattle now, so hopefully we'll reconnect, cause he can make the silent treatment reeeaaaalllly silent.

4:43 p.m. - 2003-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry