mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Memoriam

On this Memorial day 2003, we must pause to remember those who gave their lives for the cause. The fighting was hard, the enemy fierce, but those that died did not die in vain.

We have vanquished the weeds and planted in their place pretty flowers.

That is not a metaphor. I'm memorializing the legitimate garden plants who I pulled in a frenzy of weeding so that I could plant my trays of blooms. I'm no botanist, to put it mildly, so I'm sure there were things the landlord planted lovingly last year that I ripped from the ground and heartlessly threw into the blue bin, the one marked "lawn refuse," not the garbage can, that one's green.

To steal a pretty good line from a thread on this very subject with Sirilyan,

"I hope the landlord never comes by in the daylight to see what we've done to their yard. I really only pulled things I was pretty sure were weeds, but I don't know from plants. So I can just imagine them coming over and screaming 'What happened to my thousand dollar Paphiopedilum sukhakulii??!?'"

Yes, I know that's an orchid and you don't grow them in backyard gardens. Shut up.

So now I'm tired. I weeded, I trimmed, I mowed, I pruned. I may have pulled some poison oak from under a tree with my bare hands. I may have dislocated a few thingies from their connecting bits in my back.

But, like the plants I left in the garden hoping they are pretty flowering things and not pernicious sticky vines, we'll just have to wait and see.


Oh, and for those of you who may have lost loved ones in foreign wars, Here is a non-snarky line of silence for you and yours...

...


Ok. Must to make dinner now. Night, all!

5:54 p.m. - 2003-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry