mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Double-crossed

So, my Jazz Hands Jesus idea has hit a bit of a snag since my Godspell DVD got here. I watched it on Monday (not last night, stupid. What, and miss the end of Buffy??!?), and realized that the story I had planned on using Matchbox Twenty lyrics to illustrate came much more from Jesus Christ Superstar. It was much more the mime references I got from Godspell.

So, now what do I do? I�ve got songs that deal with Caiaphus and the Pharisees (Saducees?), Jesus and Judas (I�ve got like 4 of those), the betrayal in the garden, the Pontius Pilate bit, the part where the spaceship catches Graham Chapman as he falls from the� wait. Not that last one.

And none of that is in Godspell. Not enough to warrant a song, anyway.

You may think, from this entry, that I am Christian. I am not. But I was an English major, and so I�ve taken more than my share of �Bible as literature� classes. And my parents made me go to church when I wasn�t old enough to resist. So I know the story and all its sundry permutations.

And that would be the problem. I�ve confused my stories, much like Matthew, Mark, John and Luke did (ha HA!). The Jesus Christ Superstar part sort of takes away from the inherent comedy of the Godspell mime factor. Besided, Mr. Show already did a JCS parody, and much better than I ever could.

So now what do I do? Anyone who wants an associate producer credit should leave me a note or IM me. Thanks!

2:08 p.m. - 2003-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry