mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How do you spell "dreidle?"

My mind feels a little bit like it�s full of syrup. I realize that there are all sorts of gooey things that go on in a body, so I guess I need to reform that sentence to be more scientifically accurate. OK: the synapses in my brain feel like they are dipped in apoxy and that every thought has to struggle to get to the hypothalmus or whatever part it is of the brain that thinks thoughts.

Can you tell I was not that great a biology student? To rephrase again: I feel dull. I have felt dull this whole week, and I don�t think I can blame all that alcohol for all my dullness. Dorkfysh came by last night with the Kid, so she got to see me in all my dullish glory. I was already in my evening pants when they arrived, and we sat and ate pizza and watched TV while the Kid solved more crimes CSI style. I don�t know what she was expecting, but now I think she thinks I�m slow, but I�m just from Canada, eh?

Except I�m not from Canada, damnit.

I was not impressed with the Friday Five today, so I�m ignoring it. That�s allowed, right? The Friday Gestapo won�t come barrelling through my monitor will they? Will they?

Hope not. So, I�ve started reading the reviews of Matrix Reloaded, now that I�ve seen it, and I think I agree with a lot of the complaints that some reviewers have, but that didn�t taint my enjoyment of the film. Which is odd. I�m usually the first one to point out errors in logic and bad acting and gratuitous artsiness and whatnot, which this movie has, but I still enjoyed myself. Maybe it�s because I got to see it on its opening night in a theatre full of geeks, whooping and hollering and whoaing at all the right moments. Maybe it was all the painkillers I was on. But I liked it.

In health news, I continue to scratch scabs all over my arms and torso, and some unseen force has been kicking me in the stomach for the past two days. But I suppose it could always be worse.

I am excited about one thing, though. I have a date with my very own Trevor Dunnigan after work today. I�ve already bought our tickets to the 7:15pm showing of �A Mighty Wind,� and I�ve been forewarned that it isn�t as silly as the last ones, but you know what? It�ll still be a great movie, because it�s a great cast and a great director and I trust them, Ebert be damned!

You know the tune for the Dreidle song? It�s so much more fun to sing if you substitute the word �Ebert� for �Dreidle.� Sing it with me:

Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert made of clay...

10:51 a.m. - 2003-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry