mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Taco Hell

But first, the Friday five

1. What was the first band you saw in concert?
The Tubes, at the Kabuki theatre in San Francisco (when it was an actual theatre, not a movie complex), in 1983. I was at thirteen, I�m sure, the youngest person there by far. I went with my sisters (ages 20 and 16), and our Mom dropped us off and toodled around San Francisco until the time she thought the show would be over�midnight. The show had barely started by midnight, as rock show are wont to do, and the door guy felt sorry for the clearly out of place lady standing outside in the cold. So, he let her in. You can imagine my surprise when I went to the bathroom, singing along with �White Punks on Dope,� and seeing my mom sitting in the lobby, having coffee with the door guy. Weird.

2. Who is your favorite artist/band now?
I have many favorite bands, as do most people, but my one enduring love has been Peter Gabriel. He really is the greatest artist, in my opinion. I also like such sundry acts as Sarah MacLachlan, The Canadian Brass, They Might be Giants, John Mayer, Travis, R�yksopp, Jude, Sigur R�s and REO Speedwagon.

3. What's your favorite song?
Right now? Signal to Noise, by Peter Gabriel. But that might change after my lunchtime trip to Best Buy.

4. If you could play any instrument, what would it be?
Well, I was a big band geek in high school, so I can play the french horn, trumpet, baritone, piano and song flute. I also played cello for a year as a favor to the band director, but that really doesn�t count. I guess I wish I could play any instrument that could show up in a band well enough to do gigs. That way I could do shows with my rock star sister.

5. If you could meet any musical icon (past or present), who would it be and why?
Peter Gabriel. Hands down. No question.


So, I went to Taco Bell with my friend Paul for lunch just now, and, since I don't eat red meat, I ordered a Taco Supreme with beans instead of meat. Turns out? They won't do that for you. "Why?" you ask, and rightly so, because you've been ordering that for 15 years and never had a problem. Well, that's what I asked too. The answer?

"The taco shells crack when you put beans in them and pose a danger to the workers."

That's right. The beans. Pose a danger. To the workers.

What are they doing, flinging the beans into the shells? Trying to force the scooper between the two edges? And how delicate do you have to be to consider seeping beans 'dangerous?' Do they have to jump through a ring of fire to get to the steam table with the beans on it?

I mean, really. ...the hell??!??!?


Oy. You hear me? Oy. Sometimes knowing how databases work can really put you in a spot. I just finished four hours of data manipulation for a mailing list the Big Boss wants. In a nutshell, I would run a query, export it to a spreadheet, manually delete rows in the Excel spreadsheet per BB's instructions, remind her of what she has asked for when she looks at it, patiently explain why what she was looking for wouldn't show up, then run the query again with slightly different parameters and start the whole cycle again.

I must have done this eight times. I so hate the BB right now. And I hate Excel, the entire marketing team (especially the manager, who is very much like Arthur Kent. Although, I like Arthur Kent. But, I normally like this guy), and the people around me just for good measure.

*Sigh*. Well, I went out at lunch and bought a collection of DVDs called The Educational Archives from AVGeeks. That should be fun. It won't be the same without the guys from MST3K, but Trevor Dunnigan and I should be able to hold our own. Mental Hygiene has outlines of most of the movies in this set, so it will be fun to cross-reference them.

I also got the third season of Father Ted, even though I don't have the first two seasons. I'm working on that. We saw most of them on BBC America's St. Paddy's day Father Ted marathon, but this set has a bunch of extras that should be fun. I don't know what I'd do without BBC America. I could live on reruns of Father Ted and Coupling and The Office and Ground Force and Brilliant and...

There's just too many. I love it all.

1:33 p.m. - 2003-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry