mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nobody's home

I think the engineer who designed the �95 Honda Civic EX Coupe was prone to locking his/her keys in the car with the engine running. Why do I think that? Well, I drive a �95 Honda Civic EX Coupe (black, with a Ralph Wiggum sticker on the back), and let me tell you, you even think about leaving those keys in the ignition and it will beep at you like a a motherfucker.

Now, that would be a nice feature, I suppose, if it were possible to, say, lock your door without the keys. But, you see, in the �95 Honda Civic EX Coupe you can�t. The driver�s side door can only be locked using the key. The inadvertant machinations that would have to happen in order for someone to lock their keys in a �95 Honda Civic EX Coupe boggle the mind. One would have to (a) lock the door; (b) leave the keys in the ignition; (c) climb over the hand brake; and (d) exit through the passenger side door. Now I don�t know about you, but the number of times I�ve ever done this would be, oh, never. And it�s not because I�m worried about locking my keys in the car.

Leave your lights on, however, and the car says nothing. Not a ding, beep or whistle. Do the lights turn off when you turn the car off? Of course not, silly! Woe to those who live in a climate where it will be raining as you get in your car and sunny when you park, because being a good driver and turning your lights on in the rain will make those people looks stupid when they park in the sunlight and can�t see that their lights are on. And by �those,� I mean �me.�

I leave my lights on so often, I asked for (and got) jumper cables for my birthday. I leave my lights on so often, it�s a waste of time to store those cables in the trunk. I just leave the bag behind the driver�s seat, for easy access. I leave my lights on so often, attaching the cables has become like second nature. I leave my lights on so often, I�ve stopped rewarding my friends who come bail me out because I don�t have time to bake that many cookies.

My friend Paul has helped me out on the last two occasions. I said he was my hero, and that I should get him a cape, but he declined because he said �Well, then I�d need to get a cowl.� Damn straight, because I�m not getting him a cowl.

Unless he buys me a newer Honda.

11:10 a.m. - 2003-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry