mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2006-09-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cans

It took me a pretty long time to realize that, no matter what they look like-- be they ear buds or giganto-headphones or thin, foldable headsets-- I will never look good listening to my iPod. Having finally accepted this, I went to Radio Shack and bought me some noise-cancelling headphones. My previous headset was not particularly comfortable, nor did the ear-parts stay in my ears, which means that anyone sitting in proximity to me on the bus could hear what I was listening to. And I am not comfortable with the idea of complete strangers possibly passing silent judgement on me based on my choice of music.

So, I bought the kind of headphones that look like the kind my father would wear in 1975 to listen to Bread when I was a child:

He would lay on our lime green shag carpet in the living room and listen to all the sappy songs. I think that's where I got my tendency to listen to sappy songs on my iPod before I go to bed.

So now I have this honking pair of headphones that I wear on the bus, and now instead of worrying about being judged by strangers, I think about my dad listening to Baby I'm-a-want-you. And I don't care that I look like a dork.

10:38 p.m. - 2006-09-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry