mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I gotta say something

I don't really feel I have a right to comment about Hurricane-K, as so many people have said things better and done more research than I could ever hope to do. Let's just say go read Sadly, no!, because they pretty much speak for me.

And, being ensconced quite safely in 75 degree weather, with lots of food, fresh water and all the comforts of "modern American Life," I have nothing I feel I can say to those in need except I trust in the humanity of the peoples in this country and the world to come to help, despite a quote-unquote leader who says things like:

�I�m not expecting much from foreign nations because we hadn�t asked for it. I do expect a lot of sympathy and perhaps some will send cash dollars. But this country�s going to rise up and take care of it.�

However, there is this: The above quote encapsulates how the government of these United States views itself and its responsibility to the victims of the hurricane. I am not surprised at all by the lack of response from the federal government. If you have a leader who sees his place in history as a "war president" who intends to take care of everything "over there," you're not going to see a lot of planning for disasters here. Because in his mind, "it can't happen here."

Large scale death and destruction happen in third world countries, not rich democracies. Our "freedom" and our "values" are somehow supposed to protect us. So, it should come to no surprise to anyone that our federal government waited DAYS before responding. The day it hit, the president went golfing. Because it can't happen here, you see. Martial law can't happen here.

It's strange, you know? All this stuff we used to think couldn't happen here: withdrawals from treaties, terrorist attacks, civil rights revoked, pre-emptive wars started for political reasons, torture in prisons under American control, no federal response to desperate need in a time of emergency.

But it has happened here. And I, for one, can't help but put all my frustration and anger toward the one person who was supposed to be in charge during all of this.

And I'm not the only one who's angry.

8:10 p.m. - 2005-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry