mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I like apples!

From the front page of the sports section this morning:

PITTSBURGH -- A tee ball coach allegedly paid one of his players $25 to hurt an 8-year-old mentally disabled teammate so the coach wouldn't have to put the boy in a game, police said Friday.

Mark R. Downs Jr., 27, of Dunbar, Pa., is accused of offering one of his players the money to hit the boy in the head with a baseball, police said. Witnesses told police Downs didn't want the boy to play in the game because of his disability.

Police said the boy was hit in the head and in the groin with a baseball just before a game, and he did not play.

Wow. I mean, wow. That's so wrong I don't know where to start or where to begin. It's T-ball, for god's sake. A state trooper is quoted as saying "He was competitive." Um, yeah. Ladies and gentlemen, I think we've found the Karl Rove of Pennsylvania T-ball.


So, I went back into the hellmouth on Friday morning because I was picking up a friend who still works there for coffee and Friday is free donut day at the old office. I bravely made the rounds to say "hey" to ex-coworkers, but was wary of The Sump. Our last stop was the kitchen, and my friend quickly cased the place before telling me 'Ok, all clear." As I grabbed a donut, The Sump came round the corner, having been lurking the one part of the kitchen my friend couldn't see. D'oh!

We made awkward eye contact before she looked at the floor and said "hi." I think I may have done the toothless smile and eyebrow raises, but I said nothing as she slinked out of the kitchen. She was sheepish! Ha! Maybe she's been to this site, maybe she overheard me on my last day. It was satisfying, even though I had returned without anything to crow about: I'm still unemployed, my health and monetary status is still in shambles. Still, she looked guilty. She is guilty. That donut was especially tasty.

7:48 p.m. - 2005-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry