mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beware the tabby with that look in his eye

I took Newman to the vet recently, since he's turned 10 and needed his "senior cat" check up. I was worried that-- along with his asthma-- he was starting to get arthritis in his hips. I thought this because he had started shaking his hips and legs during our nightly ritual: I get into bed and call to him, and he hops up on the bed, stands on my arm and starts to knead the blue blanket he and I share, purring and burying his face in my hair.

I know he's a momma's boy, ok? I've never denied that.

Anyway, we're at the vet, the one who's entire office is madly in love with Phlyd, and I describe this behavior and share my concern. She asks a clarifying question: is it constant shaking, or more of a intermittent jerking?

More like a jerking, I answer warily.

"Oh, then I wouldn't worry about it," she replies, "I think he's just masturbating."

I can't tell you how disturbing this is on so many levels. I mean, at least he's fixed, so there's no... outcome, as it were, but still. I'm his mother-- okay, motherfigure-- and he only does it when I'm in bed, and he's tucked in my armpit, on the blue blanket. Never when he's on his own, never in any other location. It has to be me and him and blue blanket.

I've already had a cat named Oedipuss. It creeps the hell out of Trevor Dunnigan, and I can't say I blame him.

But once he's done, so to speak, he settles in my arms and purrs me to sleep. How can I give that up?

*Sigh* I can't believe my cat's gone all Soon-yi on me.

3:25 p.m. - 2005-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry