mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2005-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A plethora of synonyms and one angry bird

I thought, since I�m out of the house and doing something useful�at least for the time being�that I would have more to say here. But I don�t. Apparently, being unemployed for 9 months programs a certain lethargy into one�s consciousness. My muscles have been fully trained in lassitude. Indolence, it seems, is a hard habit to break. I could go on, but I�m just. Too. Lazy.

Trevor Dunnigan is mad at me because I took 4 naps yesterday, reneging on several promises that involved meals, yard work and TV watching. Yes, I was too tired to watch TV last night. I think there must be a gas leak in our house somewhere or something. We did recently close up a vent in the kitchen, and no one is home during the day to air out the house.

Perhaps I should describe this closed vent. Our house, which was built in the twenties, has its idiosyncrasies, to say the least. In the kitchen, for instance, in the cupboard that holds all our pantry items (canned goods, cake mixes, things that don�t need refrigeration), there is a 10 square inch vent that opens to our backyard. In the old days it had a mesh covering, but that�s been eaten away in the ensuing 80 years. I�m supposing it was a vent, though why it�s in the cupboard I couldn�t tell you. Anyway, about 2 months ago, I started hearing very loud bird noises every morning. Spring had sprung, so I assumed it was a young bird-stud warbling for a girl.

It turned out he was advertising a nest for rent, one he built right there in our cupboard. Our first face-to-face meeting was a surprise to both of us. Luckily, he high-tailed it out of there, leaving me to disassemble all his hard work. I stuffed the hole with a few pieces of old flannel sheets and we haven�t heard from him since.

4:54 p.m. - 2005-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry