mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, the backtalk I get

So this doesn't surprise me at all. In fact, I think the most surprising thing is that someone named their dog "Rico." It's an excellent name for a dog. It'd be a good name for a Pope too, but that's another entry.

So anyway, those of us with 'companion animals' know that most of them are pretty adept at understanding language, be it spoken or body or tone. As anyone who has heard me interact with my cats at dinner time can attest, those beasts know exactly what I mean. For example, if Tbone and Phlyd are both eating Newman's food, because he's a meek little tabby at times, they will each only react to the name I call. I'll admonish Tbone, who will slink away with what is clearly shame (not for eating other cat's food, but for having been caught), but until I admonish Phlyd by name, he'll just keep on eating.

It's no surprise to me that this dog can understand humans. I think the more astonishing thing about animal-human interaction is that I think I know what they're saying.

Well, it's usually "Dinner? Is it Dinner? It's so dinner-- hey, a pen! Huh! So, how about dinner?"

3:57 p.m. - 2004-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry