mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely

I read an entire book last night. 328 pages. I didn't turn on the tv once-- for the first time in I can't remember how long, I just read. I sat on the loveseat in the living room, with a cat on either side of me, rubbing their faces on my glasses and smudging them, and I read myself to tears.

It was The Lovely Bones. I know I'm a little behind the times, that book being out since 2002, but it's just now in paperback, and sometimes I like to be thrifty.

The narrator is a 13 year old girl who has just been raped and murdered by a neighbor. She moves back and forth between "her" heaven and Earth, describing the people she meets in heaven, and how people on Earth adjust to her death. It's a good story, not cloying or sentimental, and it's a good mystery without being a murder mystery. Alice Sebold creates a very good afterlife, one that actually sounds plausible. It's reassuring to think that maybe our dead loved ones are still there for big events, still caring about us.

But the part that made me cry was about 2/3 the way through the book, when the family dog has finally died, and the narrator, Susie, sees him in heaven:

I waited for him to sniff me out, anxious to know if here, on the other side, I would still be the little girl he had slept beside. I did not have to wait long: he was so happy to see me, he knocked me down.

10:59 a.m. - 2004-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry