mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fucking TV

I don't know why I ever bother to complain about not having anything to write about. Next time I say that? Point me to network news and tell me to start writing!

For example, NBC news-- I think it was-- had a *fascinating* story about a car prototype designed completely by women. "OK," I thought, "this might not be a condescending piece of fluff put out by Volvo under the heading of 'news.'" But, of course, I was wrong. Tom Brokaw didn't really try to hide his disdain over the story, but I couldn't tell if it was because it was a vacuous and meaningless story unworthy of his journalism prowess, or because 'Whhhaaaaaaat? A car designed by and for women??? That's crazy talk!'

And I think what bugged me the most was that this was how Volvo themselves saw it. What do girls want in a car? No hood! Girls can't be bothered with mechanical doohickeys. And I hate how you can't change the seats to match your outfit! Oh my god!! And? You know how hard it is to parallel park? This does it for you! Awesome!

And don't get me started about the headrest cut to accommodate ponytails.

I'm just... I can't...put into words... the hate. Oh, the hate! Ugh. On to something else.

Hmmmm... what's a good, non-misogynist thing on tv? Oh yes, I know...The Swan on Fox.

Ahem.

Now, I'm not usually one to blame the medium for cultural failings. I don't think Murphy Brown started us down the sinful path of children born out of wedlock. I don't think Crockett & Tubbs had that much affect on gang violence or the popularity of cocaine. But I have to draw the line when the pitch for a show is "Fox takes 14 ugly ducklings and with extensive plastic surgery, turns them into supermodels!" There is just so much wrong with that. The word exploitive doesn't even begin to cover it. Why would anyone put herself through that? I mean, christ almighty! It blows my mind. Seriously. I cannot fathom how this ever got cast, let alone produced. I swear, The Simpsons and Arrested Development are the only shows that keep me from writing irate letters to the editor.

Oh my heck, don't go there!

8:53 p.m. - 2004-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry