mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2004-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snowbound

I ventured out of the house today, outside where the four inches of snow has turned to three inches of snow and one inch of ice. It took me twenty minutes to walk four blocks to the store, which was mercifully open.

Another snow day today, and I imagine that tomorrow will be one as well. My commute takes me over a hill, and my little Honda just wouldn't be able to handle the snow drifts.

It's funny to watch the local news, which is now 24-hour weather updates. They've been wrong at almost every turn, so to make up for it they've been out doing man-on-the-street interviews. Being a local news program, every question is asked with an almost charming mix of surprise and horror. I like it when they accidentally get a Canadian, who will give the reporter a look and say "It's just a winter storm, ya know."

As some of you may know, I have an interest in polar history. I have read many narratives about people crossing the Antarctic ice and hearing it crack underfoot and, sometimes, giving way to the ocean beneath.

I think this is why my heart skipped a beat every time I broke through the ice walking to the store. I knew it was just roadway, but I half expected to crash through into the Weddell Sea.

6:50 p.m. - 2004-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry