mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-12-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dumbasses in America

I have spent most of my day reading message boards discussing Angels in America. I stayed mostly on two sites: Television Without Pity and HBO's message boards.

I hadn't realized how sheltered being a reader of TWOP had made me. You see, they moderate their boards, and do a damn fine job keeping people polite and on-topic. TWOPers are erudite, funny, insightful and a joy to read. And then you go to a "general admission" board, and you realize that yes, in fact most of the world is inhabited by fuckwads, illiterates and twelve year olds.

I was looking for a place where I could read about people's interpretation of the piece. What did the author mean by leaving Joe out of the epilogue? Why was Prior the chosen prophet? Why was Belize even bothering to help Roy? Isn't Justin Kirk hot?

Yes he is, but that's not important right now.

And this is what I found on TWoP. But the HBO board is a whole nother ball of stupid. Every now and then someone would write with insight. But mostly? It was asshats complaining about the "gay agenda", fuckheads misspelling veiled insults about people with AIDS or dickwads complaining that they felt "mislead" by the advertising and they wanted their "three hours back."

Seriously, there are people out there who sat in front of their TVs and watched something that they considered "trash," "stupid" and "boring" for three hours and then actually fired up their computers to whine that they wanted their wasted time back. Excuse me? Am I missing something? Because last I heard, you could change the fucking channel.

Oy, vey. If anyone saw it and wants to talk about the themes and characters and what have you, please email me. It's killing me that I can't talk to anyone about it (Trevor Dunnigan hasn't seen it). This is one to talk about. I highly recommend it. I will buy this when it is released on DVD.

4:40 p.m. - 2003-12-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry