mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On winter and dentistry

Today I was thinking in the dentist's chair again. They finally finished the three-visit series of hard-core cleaning. You would think by now my teeth would be blinding in their sparkliness, but no.

When I am being dentally manipulated, I usually like to pass the time by trying to imagine what they are doing and how long it will last. I keep track of which tooth they're working on, what they've done to it and what still needs to be done. But today I was foiled by the "temp" hygienist, who seemed to be cleaning my teeth with neither rhyme nor reason. She would jump from tooth to tooth and change implements willy-nilly. Just when I thought she must be through, she'd jump back to a previously used sharp instrument and switch teeth.

Then, just as abruptly, she stopped, proclaimed she was finished and began cleaning up without even turning off the overhead light or sitting the chair up.

I felt like I'd just finished at a Jiffy-Lube. I struggled out of the chair and left without another word. Weird.

In other news, I have to give a shout out to my boy argolam. I got a note from the Post Office yesterday that I had a certified envelope from Israel waiting for me, so I picked it up this morning. What swag! Not only did I get a two page letter, but I got a book of psalms in Hebrew, a patch with what I can only guess is a butterfly with legs running over a Girl Scout emblem on it, a picture of his darling dog, a keychain from the Israeli Air Force and an eraser in the shape of Israel with the important cities noted on it, made in China. How great is that? No mention of Palestine, but I suppose there just isn't enough room on a three and a half inch eraser for all that history. The whole thing rocks. argolam rocks.

I have nothing relevant to say about world affairs, despite the fact that I listened to NPR all morning. I think the world has just gone so far towards hell in so many types of handbaskets I don't even know where to start, so I won't. Sorry.

I will take this opportunity to note that it's already winter here in the NorthWest. We had fall for about 36 hours. One day all the leaves were on the trees, then WHOMP! There they went. Does this mean it's time for the gingerbread lattes again? Don't know. All I know is that all the cats are sleeping awful close to me now. Yay!

3:38 p.m. - 2003-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry