mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Art

I just hit my head on the shelf/light unit in my cube really hard. And now I have "Head and shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes" stuck in my head. That makes me wonder if I get a paper cut, will I suddenly not be able to stop thinking about "Hands across America?"


So, Estelle got a digital camera for christmas two years ago, and I spent that christmas in her bedroom for about an hour: 55 minutes were spent trying to set up her camera on her Mac (and I am NOT a Mac person. Nothing against them, I just have never used them, and therefore am not qualified to help anyone with one. Except for Estelle, who is less useful on a computer than a jell-o mold full of cat pee). The other 5 were spent looking in horror at her bed, which has a lace bedspread and a pillow that is literally covered (and that is not a misuse of the word literal, I assure you) in carefully-placed beanie babies. There must be at least 20 beanie babies. She tells me she meticulously removes them from her bed every night (and arranges them on a chair), then makes her bed and returns them to their assigned places every morning. And I'm the one in therapy.

But I digress. This entry is really about her photography skills. I submit here for your enjoyment a photograph-- as it was sent to me-- from her trip to Washington, DC recently.

Notice first the subject. A chair. How like an artiste to choose such a mundane subject to use as an exploration of the metaphysics of digital information. Splendid! Then, she chose to keep the picture in landscape, despite the subject being portrait. Brilliant! And finally, the lack of focus in the picture brings precisely that to those that obscure attempts to understand digital information and its relation to human consciousness*. Clearly, the work of a genius.

I'm sorry, I meant to say weenie.

Now, I'm no photographic artist. Actually? I suck at all of that. But come on, it's a sideways, blurry picture of an inanimate object. Why would she post that? I take lots of bad pictures, but I don't upload them to oFoto and proudly invite the world to see them.

*This fancy wording brought to you by http://jodi.ecs.soton.ac.uk/Articles/v03/i03/Weight/digitalartcriticism.html. Thanks!

3:42 p.m. - 2003-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry