mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm pale, so what?

So, my math skills are getting worse, and that has led directly to me having to listen to Estelle babble on for ten minutes about her getting physically ill from the stress of having her desk moved at work (yeah, I don't know either) and her ending the story with the immortal line "Oh my god, EM, my face was as white as your legs! Ew!"

I thought my rent check was going to bounce, because I have momentarily forgotten both subtraction and the amount we pay for rent. In a panic, I called my mother, who carefully restated everything I asked of her back to me, so Estelle could hear everything.

So, you want to borrow money?
Estelle squawks in the background
Four hundred dollars?
A background shriek and some yammering
OK, I'll send a check tomorrow.
Distant sound of eyes bulging and veins popping and chairs being pushed about

She's such a pushy, invasive cretin. And it turns out that I didn't even need to borrow the money, that I had actually planned my finances properly this month (for once), but the punishment has stuck. Oh, how I can't wait for them to visit!

I was chatting on AIM with my rockstar sister just now, and experienced an odd deja v� whilst typing the phrase "The horses are Swedish." And that made me smile.

Start geekmode now...

I got an email yesterday from a genuine writer: Dr. Michael Rosove, author of Let the Heroes Speak, a book that sits in my library and taunts me with its well-crafted prose and well-researched histories of polar exploits. He said he got my name from a man I've never heard of in Tronheim, Norway, and I guess thought I worked at Frammuseet, the museum that hold Fram, the ship of Fridtjof Nansen and Roald Amundsen, the ship that has been both farthest North and farthest South. Needless to say, I was thrilled to get the email, even if it was meant for a more useful person than me. I had to write him back with the email of the gentleman at Frammuseet, and break it to him that I was a lowly polargeek with a half-assed website. But still, fun!

...and I'm out of geekmode.

In other news, I have experienced true friendship. Paul, my coworker who had yesterday off, not only drove to work to have lunch with me, but brought for me a Krispy Kreme donut from the four he got from his mother. He gave me 25% of his donut booty! Me! I was thrilled and touched and ravenous. Dude, you rock.

I have more to say, but I think I'll save it for another entry. I don't often get this much journal fodder.

1:21 p.m. - 2003-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry