mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Surprise

The U.S. government on Tuesday raised its terror alert status to the second-highest level because of the renewed risk of terrorist attack in the United States in light of recent attacks in the Middle East. - Yahoo News, May 20, 2003

I wonder if anyone is surprised by this. I wonder if anyone thinks that the attack on Iraq was going to stop these attacks? I wonder if anyone who thinks Bush�s cowboy bravado towards the Middle East was appropriate now sees the connection between his might-is-right approach and the perceived rise in terrorist activity? Does anyone think it�s possible that the Homeland Security Advisory System might be seen as inspiring to organizations itching to make a grand political gesture?

Oh, probably not.

I'm just so disappointed in this country right now. I'm disappointed that many people mistake charm for intelligence. I'm disappointed that people mistake asking questions for treason. I'm disappointed that people mistake brutality for patriotism. I'm disappointed that this country has politicized ice cream (link courtesy of Democratic Underground).

3:04 p.m. - 2003-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry