mnvnjnsn's Diary

To contact send email to mnvnjnsnATSIGNgmailDOTcom.

2003-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I believe I can fly

The drive to work this morning was curiously light on traffic. I wonder if people are staying home because of George's war.

I bet there a lot of soldiers right now who wish they could have stayed home because of George's war.

Last night MTV was showing some report by some kid who is in Kuwait (or was recently). He stopped by the marine unit at the border with Iraq. Why is everyone so young? He noted that most of the marines there joined up with the intention of bettering their lives, not actually fighting a war. Which means that most of these people are lower-income eighteen-to-twenty-year-olds who needed the money for college.

And they're fighting this war so Dick Cheney can have his oil wells. That's nice.

Anyway, I don't envy these marines, nor do I mean to belittle their existence or the fact that they have a job to do. Hate the war, not the fighta. Hate the chimp that got them into the mess, not the people who have to clean up that chimp's shit. I am offended by people who insist those of us who do not see this war as just are "not supporting" our troops.

What the fuck? Support them how? What does that even mean? Am I calling up their mothers and screaming obscenities? Am I tripping their children on the playground? Am I making comments about their (collective) weight behind their (collective) back?

How can NOT wanting these troops in a situation that can get them killed be UNSUPPORTIVE? How can wanting these soldiers back home be UNPATRIOTIC? Stupid fucking extremist rhetoric.

Anyway, this MTV reporter had some of the marines give shouts outs to their peeps back home, and one guy said "I want to give a shout-out to my little son, I love you.. and my wife... and R. Kelly. Keep the faith, man."

What's up with that?

3:50 p.m. - 2003-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry